Awards & Recipients


SAFE Awards recognize outstanding or unique contributions by members to the growth and promotion of the organization in particular, or to the broader aviation community as a whole. If you would like to nominate a SAFE member for an award, please submit the form provided at the bottom of this page.


FOUNDERS AWARD — In recognition for selfless service in support of the Mission and Vision of the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators:

  • 2015 – Sherry Rossiter
  • 2014 –
  • 2013 – JoAnn Hill
  • 2012 – Jim Goodwin
  • 2011 – Robert Wright
  • 2010 – Brian Robbins
  • 2009 – Rich Stowell

SERVICE AWARD  In recognition for outstanding contribution and selfless service to the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators:

  • 2015 – Chris Palmer
  • 2014 –
  • 2013 – Larry Bothe
  • 2012 – Sherry Rossiter and Alan Davis
  • 2011 – Glenna Blackwell (SAFE & Symposium logo designs, graphics, etc.)
  • 2010 – Pat Knight (SAFE’s Charter Secretary)
  • 2009 – Radek Wyrzykowski (created SAFE’s initial website)


2010 GaMe PLAN — Special thanks to all those who recruited new members during the membership drive:

  • Jeffrey Robert Moss – Top Recruiter, Zulu headset from Lightspeed Aviation
  • Rod Machado – Second Place, Garmin Nuvi 765T car GPS from Avionics Specialists LLC
  • Michael Phillips – Third Place, Ultimate FIRC Package from ASA, Max Trescott, Rich Stowell
  • Mark Adams – Random Drawing Prize Winner, AirClassic’s headset from ASA
  • Other Recruiters (alphabetically):
    • Tom Benenson, Larry Bothe, Alan Davis, Sam Dawson, Richard Funcheon, Dion Gotti, Robert Hadow, JoAnn Hill, Bernard King, Robin Lindstrom, Arlynn McMahon, Brian Robbins, Jonathan Shorey, Bob Spera, Doug Stewart, Rich Stowell, Al Van Lengen, Ken Wittekiend


  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
    • Honorary SAFE Membership bestowed on aerospace industry executive James Douglas
  • 2009
    • Honorary SAFE Membership bestowed on centenarian pilot Captain Joe Grant
    • SAFE Member #001 assigned posthumously to early SAFE supporter Sparky Imeson in honor of his decades of contributions to aviation

Nominate A SAFE Member for an Award